Home > About Us

About Us

New SALC logoThe Town Council was created in 1974 as the successor to the Urban District Council and is based in the Shire Hall, Market Hill.  For further details of the Woodbridge Town Council Staff Team click here, and for the organisational structure click here.

It is the 3rd tier of Local Government  after Suffolk County Council and East Suffolk Council and deals only with the Town of Woodbridge.

The Town itself is split into 4 Wards; FARLINGAYE, KYSON, SECKFORD and RIVERSIDE and each ward has four Councillors. To view a map of the Wards and find details of the councillors who represent them see here.

The Town Mayor is Chairman of the Council; he/she is also the Civic Head of Woodbridge, representing the Town at many civic and other functions.    

The Town Council meets on the second Tuesday of each month with the remaining standing committees meeting in turn on the remaining Tuesdays of the month. Meetings are held in the Council Chamber, Shire Hall, Market Hill, usually starting at 7pm - more information can be found on the 'Agendas and Minutes' page. 

In addition, Town Councillors are appointed to local bodies in the Town including the Town Centre Management Group, Woodbridge Community Council, the Community Hall Management Committee, Woodbridge Museum, the Suffolk Association of Local Councils, the Tide Mill Trust, the Seckford Foundation and the Safer Neighbourhood Team.

The Town Council owns and maintains the Shire Hall and Market Square, the award winning Elmhurst Park, Kingston Field, The Garden of Remembrance and War Memorial,  Fitzgerald Green (off Sun Lane),  Broomheath and  Fen Meadow.   It also maintains the Quaker Burial Ground in Turn Lane (just of Church Street) on behalf of the owner. A map showing the areas of town under our jurisdiction can be seen here

The Shire Hall Council Chamber is also an approved premises for Civil Ceremonies.    

Click on this link  to find out more about getting married at the Shire Hall.